Chit Chat

Baby names

Re: Baby names

• I'm a teacher so popularity is definitely a factor to me, if not actually major concern. It gets old teaching literally five different Megan's... I just don't want my kid to have to deal with that.

That being said, there is a difference between popular and trendy. Popular = classic, timeless, enduring. Trendy = super associated with one era/cultural phenomenon. I get much more nervous about trendy names than popular.
    Exactly. For example, William has been in the Top 20 for over 100 years. Contrast that with Justin, which peaked at #7 in 88 and has been slowly declining ever since.

Or Jessica, which was #1 in 88. It dropped out of the Top 10 in 2001 and is dropping quickly, where the lowest Elizabeth has been since 1900 is #26 in the forties.

That and I never had to go by Elizabeth Last Initial because there are so many nicknames for it. I was in a class with three girls named Elizabeth once - one Lizzie, one Liz and one Beth and those are just the more common nicknames. I also know Elizabeth's who go by Betsy, Liza, Eliza, Libby and my uncle calls me Ebbie (don't know where that came from).

Give your kid a name with a long list of nicknames and they never need to worry about being called first name - last initial.

• Names are super important to me. Names have "power", for lack of a better word. (Nominative determinism etc.)

I'm REALLY happy that they chose Charlotte over Alice. I figured that they would, seeing as it honours both his dad and her mom. I just don't like Alice. I couldn't tell you why, I just don't.

DH and I don't want kids, but we picked names fairly early in our relationship because I have a thing about names being important. And I'm not gonna lie, I totally used the baby name discussion as a test - luckily for us, we both like classic names more than trendy ones.