Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

NWR: Baby Shower Etiquette

So my sister has graciously offered to throw a baby shower for me.  She is very detail oriented so she is already trying to gather ideas.  She has asked me when I would like to have it in terms of a weekend that is easiest for me.

I am a teacher so I would love to have it in August this way I'm not going crazy at the beginning of the year trying to get situated at work and setting up a nursery.  Our goal is to have the nursery completed by July.  September is a crazy month with going back to work and we have a wedding in September as well.  I might also be switching classes so my weekends are going to be filled with lesson planning for a grade I've never taught.

Here's my dilemma.  In August I will be borderline into the 3rd trimester (I am due on Thanksgiving).  Do you think this is too early? I am obviously trying to avoid the holiday weekend and possible the weekend before because I know people plan vacations.  Thoughts?  
Anniversary

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: NWR: Baby Shower Etiquette

• Options
    Why not  October?   It's after the hubub of the beginning of the school year and still a month before your due date?

I generally prefer baby showers closer to the due date if it's possible.
  • Options
    I'm not sure if I want it to be that close to the due date but it's a possibility. I also have to consider my sisters schedule as well.
    Anniversary

• Options
    ohmrs2014 said:

I'm not sure if I want it to be that close to the due date but it's a possibility. I also have to consider my sisters schedule as well.

Do you have any concerns in your pregnancy that would put a shower at 32-26 weeks an issue?
  • Options
    I guess it would be more of a comfort issue for me as well as making sure everything is organized and put away. I think it's just me over analyzing everything.
    Anniversary

• Options