Wedding Hair, Makeup, & Beauty Forums

Anyone else planning on doing their own hair/makeup?

I don't want to pay the hundreds of dollars it would cost to have my hair and makeup done professionally (unless I'm having braided extensions which I sometimes do, but I wouldn't be doing that for the wedding, it would just be because I like extensions, and they last for about 3 months), and I am very comfortable doing my own hair and makeup. I have a lot of experience with both, thanks to my theatre background.

Anyone else in the same boat?

Re: Anyone else planning on doing their own hair/makeup?

• I'll be doing my own makeup, since I'm pretty good at that, but I don't feel as confident about doing my own hair for special occasions--I manage it sometimes, but other times it just doesn't behave as expected. I'd say if you're comfortable doing it, go for it.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • I'm planning on simple hair -- either flat ironed and curled then pinned into an updo, or a giant bun made with the box braids, so it's not hard at all :) But yeah, makeup -- super easy!
  • Ahhh, I love those giant box braid buns! Curled and pinned sounds pretty complicated to me, though; I play around with doing that for work sometimes and it never comes out the same way twice.

The only thing I'm worried about for makeup is false eyelashes, but I have months and months left to practice that.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • I love the buns too! 

I did curled and pinned for my prom and I think it turned out really well. But, it was a lot of work and took me about 3 hours!!