Chit Chat
Options

Random Question

My husband asked me an interesting question: What would I do if he lost all his memory? Not like in 50 or more years, but right now. I told him that I would stay by his side and take care of him.

Now I'm curious what you all would do. What would you do if your SO lost all their memory?

Re: Random Question

• Options
    I'd take care of him as best I could. But if it was something like Alzheimer's, I'd probably have to enlist professional help eventually. I'm not a doctor and I know there are places/people that could offer better care than what I could provide. I'd try to give him what I thought was best and what would make him most comfortable.

But I'd stay loyal to him if that's more the question.
    *********************************************************************************

• Options
    I'd take care of him to the best of my ability, but sometimes it's best to get professional help. My grandmothers husband (dad's stepfather) has dementia and my grandma had to put him in a nursing home ( and she's a nurse!). He needed to have someone with him at all times because he tried to take the car a couple times and then didn't know where he was. She missed my wedding because his nurse cancelled, and my grandma couldn't leave him. That's when she decided it was better for everyone if he went to a nursing home.

• Options
    AddieCake said:

I'm confused by this question. It's not like anyone is going to say, "Oh, sorry, but I'd be out of there if that happened."

I was just coming in here to post the same thing.
  • Options
    I would stay and try and get as much help from medical professionals as possible. 

Daisypath Anniversary tickers Daisypath Anniversary tickers

• Options
    edited July 2015
    AddieCake said:

I'm confused by this question. It's not like anyone is going to say, "Oh, sorry, but I'd be out of there if that happened."

This.