Wedding 911
Options

Authorized Retailers???

Okay, so I bought my dress a few months ago, not having a specific designer in mind. When they gave me the paperwork with the name of the designer, I tried to search for a website and couldn't find anything. I thought maybe it was a small or local designer since the store only had one dress from them. Now, I picked up my dress a few weeks ago, brought it home, and found that on the paperwork they misspelled the designer's name. Now, able to search for the website, I found that the bridal shop I bought my dress from is NOT an authorized retailer. Now, I am new to this so am not sure exactly what this means. What I find sketchy is that they misspelled the designer's name in the first place, and that there is no dress size on the dress itself. 

The missing dress size is worrisome for a couple of reasons. One, the fit is very awkward, too small for my chest, too big everywhere else. Two, when I did find the list of authorized retailers, one of the retailers said they were able to custom make the dress with my measurements (the shop I bought my dress from said this was not an option). 

Did I get played? Is it possible I have a counterfeit? If so, do I have any right to retaliation? I am so frustrated that I could have had my dress made with my measurements for only $17 more, and now I may have to pay a few hundred for alterations...

Re: Authorized Retailers???

• Options
    CMGragainCMGragain member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
    edited August 2015
    You can have a dress custom made in a couple of ways:  You can pay $20,000+ for a designer original.  You can order from a Chinese knock off site, and you might get SOMETHING that you can wear - maybe.  You can hire a local seamstress to custom make you a gown.  You can make the gown yourself.