Destination Weddings Discussions

DW in Europe? City suggestions?

We are having a DW in Europe, where my fiance's family will be more able to travel... his family are mostly in Eastern Europe, and we can basically pick anywhere within the Schengen zone. 

Any suggestions as to city/country/venue?? I am brand new to this concept and am just starting to research options. Any thoughts are welcome!

Re: DW in Europe? City suggestions?

• CMGragainCMGragain member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
    edited December 2015
    Th most important thing to consider is the difficulty of the marriage laws within the country selected.

There are some important questions that you must answer before we can give a recommendation.  Are either you or your FI religious?  If so, what is your church affiliation?  Are you set on having a wedding outdoors, or in any particular place?  Some countries do not allow this.  How long can you spend in the country before the wedding takes place?

http://www.marryabroad.co.uk/how-to-get-married-in-europe.shtml

httpiimgurcomTCCjW0wjpg
  • Thanks for your reply!

We are not religious; I would prefer an indoor wedding (and we are thinking of Feb-March 2017 or thereabouts, so snow may be an issue). We could spend 4-5 days there. 

Thank you for that website, that looks extremely helpful!
  • Please keep in mind that when some of those country's say "no residency requirement" they do require you to be in the country for some weeks/ months beforehand to appear in person to sign forms, give notice etc. Republic of Ireland, for example, has no "residence requirement" but you will have to be there in person 3 months beforehand to give your notice of intent to marry. 
  • What cities does his family live in? Seems to me it would be easiest to chose one of those (given you can meet the requirements) rather than throwing a dart at a random country....