Wedding Photography and Videography Forum

Questions to ask photographer

FI and I have agreed upon a photographer (woo!) and I want to schedule a meeting with her before we sign a contract.

I have a few questions in mind to ask, but was wondering if anyone had other questions a total noob might not think of!

The package we are looking at includes an engagement session (she provided details already on that), "12 small prints" (I'll be asking details about that), 8 hours of photography, online gallery, 2nd shooter, "printing rights to full-resolution images" (not sure what is meant by full-resolution), and a pre-wedding consultation including timeline planning and styling tips.

Also, anything I need to make sure is in the contract? I know I should look for what would happen if someone cancels and how long it will take for our photos to be ready.

Thanks!

Re: Questions to ask photographer

• 12 small prints probably means 8x10 or smaller, ask, and might not include printing rights.
    Full resolution means you can print a large photo, it is the highest resolution they can convert to jpg from whatever format and size they shot. If you might print something really large, ask for specifics.
    :kiss: ~xoxo~ :kiss:

• Here's my quick suggestions…
    - Look for a number of wedding, not just one good wedding. Look at the composition of the photos.
    - Take a good look at group photos, everyone LOVES the photojournalistic poses of the B&G - but they often overlook the group images. You know the one of your whole family that you mom wants on the mantle. Don't get caught up in the still life pics - anyone can put a ring on a heel of a pretty shoe or take a photo of a dress in a window - just tell them you want it.
    - Ask about back up cameras. What type of lenses do they prefer and why. How do they deal with lighting.
    - Do they have experience at your venue?
    - Do they offer Second shooters?