Wedding Reception Forum

Reception Arrangement Problems

It's my first time posting so please forgive any unknown faux pas. 

I've used the search bar a bit and have come to realize that maybe my initial idea of a standing-style cocktail reception isn't going to work like I thought. It's not a cocktail reception because there's no alcohol, but we are going to serve cake and punch and possibly finger foods. I don't want the reception to be very long. Or rather, FH and I will be leaving as soon as possible and I don't care if the guests stay and enjoy themselves or drop in and jet. (When I go to receptions, I'm usually a drop-in-and-go type person, myself.) I don't care about the garter or bouquet tosses, I mostly just want to be able to see everyone, have a first dance, have guests sign our book (or whatever alternative we find to an actual book) MAYBE do a cake cutting, and then do a send off. Short and sweet. 

Money is not the problem, but the reception venue is very significant to us so we really really want to get married there even though our numbers are pushing it. We are inviting around 220, I think that with seated round tables our venue could hold 160-180.

I've already cut the guest list down significantly.

It is acceptable to have a cocktail reception and have tall bar-height tables, plus a few tables + chairs plus LOTS of chairs around the room? There will be enough room for everyone to have a chair or a standing table to eat on -- but not necessarily both. 

If I nix the finger foods, would just serving cake and punch do it? The venue is more important to us than the food, the cost of renting more bar-height tables, or anything else. 

Or do I just need to give up my dream of having the reception at the place that has meant so much to us for the past 7 years? :(

Re: Reception Arrangement Problems