Wedding Invitations & Paper

FUN WEDDING INVITE WORDING.... NEED HELP!

Hello!!!!
So my Fiance and I are getting married this may, ceremony on the beach followed by backyard reception.
We want a FUN invite that will make our guests excited and show our fun personalities.
I don't want a stuffy traditional invite.
Any suggestions???
Ive googled for hours and come up with the same few options. Im not good at wording... so I need some help =)
Any suggestions are appreciated!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Re: FUN WEDDING INVITE WORDING.... NEED HELP!

• I wouldn't try for "fun" wording in the invitation.

You can give it a "fun" vibe with your choice of cardstock, colors, fonts, graphics, and so on, but "fun," "cute," "funny," "clever," "original/unique/nontraditional" wording all too often results in guests not understanding exactly what it is they're being invited to, who the hosts are, or other important information.

It can also lead guests to not take your wedding seriously, or to make unflattering assumptions about your and/or your FI's maturity and/or readiness for marriage (or lack thereof).
  • A wedding invitation wording is meant to convey the who, what, when, and where of a wedding.  As Maggie says above the design of the invitation is meant to convey the formality or fun that you want to show off.
  • CMGragainCMGragain member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
    edited January 2016
    A wedding invitation is a simple note from the hosts (you?) to the guests, telling them, who, what, when and where.  It is not supposed to indicate anything more than this.  Just as mushy poetry declaring your love is out of place on the invitation, so is "fun" wording.  You don't have to use traditional wording, but it must do the job without insulting anyone.
    Here is a neutral, modern wording that works:

You are invited to the wedding of
    Bride's Full Name
    and
    Groom's Full Name
    Saturday, September 10, 2016
    at 6:00 PM
    Venue