Flowers

Bouquet to throw + a bouquet to keep?

We are meeting with our florist for final flower decisions this weekend, and my mom mentioned something about me having two bouquets - one to throw for the bouquet toss, and one to keep. My thought is that the flowers will die anyway so why spend extra money on another one, but she said if you hang them upside down they dry and keep longer...? I am no flower expert, but is it common to order two bouquets? 

Re: Bouquet to throw + a bouquet to keep?

• I ordered a "toss" bouquet because the one I ordered for myself was expensive and I didn't really want to throw such a nice/pretty bouquet. However, I've since decided that I don't really want to do a garter/bouquet toss because they're awkward and most of my friends/family are married. Anyway, rather than take it off the invoice, I've decided to give it to my flower girl (my niece) because I think she'll love it. If you don't care about your own bouquet getting messed up, there's no need to spend the extra money. If you want to try to preserve it, maybe buy a toss - they are somewhat common. Another option is saving a few flowers from your bouquet to preserve and then toss the rest. 
  • My florist included a complimentary toss bouquet (much smaller & simpler than my bouquet). Her reasoning was "I spend too much time and effort making bride's bouquets to let them THROW it!".  Maybe your florist does the same?  I didn't even do a bouquet toss, so the toss bouquet sat on the cake table as additional decoration. 

If it's an additional cost and you don't plan on trying to preserve your bouquet anyway, it's probably not worth it. 
    --