Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Money Matters

So my fiance and I have very different plans for our wedding than my mother does, who is a wedding planner by profession. My mother prefers that we celebrate in a catholic church, dinner followed by a dance, and all aunts and uncles invited. We only want to invite those who we are close with (I wouldn't be able to even recognize some of my aunts and uncles) not have a religious wedding, only have coffee and desserts to follow, and keep it to about 40 people.

Due to the differences my fiance decided to pay for our own wedding. Shortly after we advised my parents of our decision, she forged my signature and deposited money into my account (my mom is on my financial accounts for emergencies). I explained that we don't want the money and she said just to keep it, and use whatever we need for the wedding, and to keep the rest, but advised that she "expects" me to invite all of my (20+) aunts and uncles. 

Not sure how to navigate this.. 

Re: Money Matters

• Options
    This is where you return the money (via cash or cashier's check) and insist that you will be paying for your own wedding and inviting those guests you and your FI want at the wedding. Tell her you can't keep the money with her strings attached.
  • Options
    Jen4948Jen4948 member
    First Anniversary First Answer First Comment 5 Love Its
    edited March 2016
    Return the money to your mother.  (Take her off your account and consider substituting your FI's name.  Forgery is serious, regardless of how benignly it is intended.)

And let her know that you and your FI will pay for and plan your own wedding, since your ideas about what you want are completely different from hers.  Then you can ignore any "expectations" from her.  If she tries to bring them up again, you can tell her, "Mom, since only we are paying, only we get a say."