Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Discussing money with FPIL

My fiancé and I are at the point of wedding planning where we're signing contracts and getting ready to send in deposits. He mentioned his parents want to help financially but they have only said this to him. I have a good enough relationship with them where we will email/text about things but they have not brought up any wedding stuff with me.

I'm very grateful for this as we're both 30 and can pay for our own wedding but I recognize that parents want to be involved. The problem is that my fiancé has been working A LOT lately and I've been handling most of the planning for the two months. I'll mention that we need to send deposits in soon but also feel bad continuing to bring this up as he is so overworked and stressed. Would it be out of line for me to e-mail his parents and say that (my fiancé) told me they generously offered to help us and how grateful I am to see if that sparks any conversation? He's making wedding decisions based on money they offered and while I know they won't back out, my fiancé is the only one right now that can talk to them about it and he just doesn't have the time. I'm caught in a weird place where I want to not count on them and keep planning and making decisions for things we can afford but our wedding is 4 months away and I would need to start getting new quotes for less expensive caterers, etc.

Re: Discussing money with FPIL

• Options