Students

NWR: Grad School Financial Aid

So I'm wondering if I can get any input from you ladies.  I know I'm anxious about financials as it is and have always been anxious about the cost of PA school (especially at a private university - EEP) and I'm sure I just need to wait for the process to work it out before I worry too much but the process moves slowly!

A little background, this will be my second Masters. I already have one and some post-grad work, so I'm no stranger to the lack of aid for graduate students.  I know the rules are different.  I've been working in my field for 8 years and have spent the last year in an administrative role making more money than I would be in direct service but still not enough to make it worth sticking it out in Mental Health/Substance Abuse.

I did my FAFSA yesterday and it's basing my aid estimate on my 2015 taxes but the trick is I won't be able to work in my program, so I will effectively have no income come the fall.  I have contacted financial aid about this but the woman for my program has been remarkably unhelpful and has essentially just repeated herself telling me that I won't get need based aid because I already have a Bachelor's Degree.

I'm working on setting up a phone conversation with her because I think wires are getting crossed in email but she isn't very receptive.  My question for you ladies is has anyone else experienced something similar?  I'm looking for additional types of aid (grants/scholarships) but so far have only found old grants that aren't opening for 2016 and grants for people who are in their second year of PA school.  I definitely intend to keep looking but if anyone out there has had an experience I can learn from I am interested.

Thanks!

Re: NWR: Grad School Financial Aid