Wedding Invitations & Paper

Weekend wedding wording for Save the Dates

Hello! We are getting married 9/30/17 and our location will be about a 6 hour drive for the majority of our guests that attend. My fiance and I are getting ready to go ahead and send out our Save the Dates so everyone has plenty of time to plan but first I need some help :) My mother's best friend is throwing a welcome party for us on the 28th, rehearsal dinner will be on the 29th of course, and then the wedding. Separate invitations will be sent out for these events once it starts getting closer to the wedding but I want to be able to let people know now so that they can book their rooms accordingly. We wanted to put something on the back of our save the date but I am not really sure how I should word it? We also wanted to put accommodation suggestions on there as well. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated :)

Answers

• I'm no wording expert - but question - can you switch the dates of the RD and welcome party? I think it's more reasonable to expect the 12-15 people in the WP to be there on Thursday than the majority of the people invited to your wedding. Many people get to OOT weddings on Friday night, but not many people get there Thursday night. Asking a few people to take an extra day in town for the RD is more reasonable IMO (of course I know the welcome party isn't required, but I think you'll get more attendance that way). That way maybe you can mention the welcome party on the STD in some way and call the WP and tell them about the RD on Thursday. 
  • Why would anyone want to take Thursday off work for a welcome party? Just host a party after the rehearsal dinner or combine the two. 
  • I would use a website to relay all of that information and put a link to that on the STD.  That way people can see what the schedule of events is for the entire weekend and make their plans around what works best for them.