Wedding Reception Forum

Wedding Venues in DC/MD/VA Area – $5000 or Less

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie here, in the VERY EARLY planning stages of a 2017 wedding! smile 

Given that I am on a tight budget, I am looking for an afforable venue. I would like to know if anyone can recommend an affordable venue in the DC/MD/VA area that would cost $5000 or less (and possibly include tables & chairs). I need to stay within 20 miles of Hyattsville, MD as that’s where the ceremony would be. I also would not like to do an outdoor tented venue.

I have already looked at PG County Elegant Settings venue and was hoping for The Prince Georges’ Ballroom but it looks like people have already put deposits for the dates I was interested in. 

Anyone familiar with/has experience with Rock Creek Mansion in Bethesda, Occasions Banquet Hall in Laurel, or Visarts in Rockville?

Would greatly appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks!

Re: Wedding Venues in DC/MD/VA Area – $5000 or Less

• OP, this is an international board so you may not get many specific responses.   I am not sure how popular the locals are (mine is beyond dead!).

That said, there are many ways to host a wedding under $5,000 much less find a venue.  The best approach is outside the "wedding venue" route.  First determine your guest list.  Account for all SO's and budget for Singles to get into a relationship.  Easiest way is to give all the singles a "plus-one".  When you book a venue remember to add EVERYONE to your count (You and FI, Wedding Party, Photographers, DJs, etc).  Find a venue that allows breathing room and eliminate anything too small. 

Some ideas:  Can you rent a church basement?  What about a park that has a climate controlled building?  A local museum, historical site, Restaurant, or  similar.  VFW Halls and Lodges can usually accommodate a larger guest list while maintaining a budget.