Wedding Etiquette Forum

Daddy Problems

Hello lovely brides to be,

I am struggling with my father, who left when I was a freshman to live in Florida with his new wife. He has not been in my life at all and has not attended any events for as long as I can remember. 
(He showed up at my moms house when I was 15 with 18 trash bags, cussing me out and telling me he did not want me living with him anylonger. Accompanying him was his wife talking trash about me, straight to my face.)
I finally saw him after 5 years of barley any communication while I was visiting my grandmother in Florida. Sadly, when I went to his house, there was no sight, pictures or anything of me. It hurt more than you know... I cried all night on my fiances shoulder. It's like I do not matter to him, at all.

His wife Facebook messaged me and asked if he is walking me down the aisle on the big day and I kindly responded that I do not think that is appropriate considering my father cannot even call to say hello.
She got very upset, told me she thinks its best if they do not communicate with me and BLOCKED ME.. 
I tried calling my dad and step mother, with suddenly being blocked on both phones without even talking to my father about the topic..

Under these circumstances, should I still invite him for the special day or should I pass on it?
This has been bothering me for months and I just need some friendly advice, my heart is so torn since it is my dad, but he is not a father the same time. 

Help please!

Re: Daddy Problems

• mollybarker11mollybarker11 member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its Name Dropper
    edited December 2016
    I'm so sorry you've gone through this. I would not invite them to the wedding.

edit// Didn't catch that the wedding is so far off. My response was based on the clear indication that they aren't interested in being in your life. If that changes by the time your invites are sent you can decide then.
  • ppgbeb said:
    Hello lovely brides to be,