Chit Chat

Is my wedding going to be a PPD?

My Fiance and I are getting married on June 24, 2017. We have been engaged and planning the wedding since May 2015. I graduated nursing school and started working in January 2016, I was able to add my Fiance to my insurance (according to their requirements he qualified as a spouse since we have lived together more than 12 months).  I asked them about adding my fiancé's 2 daughters and they said I could add them also. I did not end up adding them the first year but added them on when open enrollment came around in November. I received a letter from the insurance company requesting verification documentation for the girls. the required documents are their birth certificates (not a problem to get) plus 2 spouse verification documents. These documents are a mortgage statement with both of our names from the last 6 months (no problem, we bought a house together in March 2016) and either a government-issued marriage license or a notarized affidavit of common law marriage. We don't have our marriage license for 6 months when we get married so they said we would need to fill out the affidavit of common law marriage to be able to add the girls to my insurance. In the state of Texas, common law marriage is treated as any other type of marriage. So this means we will be married when we have our wedding in June. Does this mean our wedding is a PPD?

Re: Is my wedding going to be a PPD?

• I also say no. There's a difference (in my mind anyway) between marriage (and taking vows, signing these papers) and a common law marriage (which I believe does not involve vows). I agree with @OliveOilsMom above that these are two different things. 

I also hate the term PPD. 
  • I agree with the other ladies. Common law and legal marriage are different in my mind.

• Def not a PPD. You didn't go get married at the courthouse some time ago just to have a "real" wedding at a later date.