Chit Chat

Part Time Event Planning? Opinions wanted, please!

I don't know if this is the place for this, but anyway, here it is. 

I am a teacher and I've always wanted to be a teacher aside from a short period of time in high school where I couldn't decide if I wanted to go into teaching or event planning. I always obsessed over weddings, friend get-togethers, and birthday parties and not for the reason you would think. I LOVED the idea of planning and organizing those. 

I went with teaching because I knew it wasn't a fleeting passion, which I wasn't sure about the event planning. Well, after planning my own wedding, it has been reignited and I've been giving some serious thought to the idea of doing event planning. I don't want to quit teaching so I've been thinking, is it possible to do part-time? By that I mean limiting myself to 1 or 2 events at a time. I managed to plan my wedding and a few fun birthday parties and events for my bridesmaids (lget-togethers for my bridesmaids as a thank you where they never had to spend a penny or were forced to come) while teaching, so I do think it is possible to plan 1 or 2 events while keeping my teaching career.

Is that just a terrible idea? I'd start off with helping some of my friends who are engaged (If they WANT my help. I would never force it, but just offer my help and for free) to build some experience and a portfolio and then market myself around the area when I felt I could provide a quality service for a cost. 

I'm totally open to brutally honest opinions on this, as long as no one is outright rude. But if you think that's not a good idea, then let me know! 

Re: Part Time Event Planning? Opinions wanted, please!

• Thank you, both!