Destination Weddings Discussions

Planning a sort-of destination wedding

Hi friends,
I'm new to TK. My FW and I are planning our wedding for May or June 2019, in my small hometown a few hours from the US border in Ontario on a Saturday evening. This will be (relatively) local for me and most of my friends and family (within 2 hours drive). I also have some family and friends on both coasts of Canada. My FW is American (central state) and has most of her family on the east coast of the US. She also has family in Europe, who we anticipate will likely attend.
Obviously this is not an ideal situation and we have tried to arrange things so that the wedding will be nearby for the maximum number of people, but it will involve a significant amount of travel for many of our guests. We want to minimize their inconvenience as much as possible and be gracious hosts. It's likely that her European family will want to stay for a while after the wedding (long flight for just a weekend) so we aren't planning a honeymoon in order to accommodate them.
We would really appreciate feedback on the ideas that we've come up with and any suggestions that you can think of.
1) We are considering hiring a shuttle from the closest major airport (~3 hours' drive) to the town the day before the wedding. We would reach out to those who are would have to fly in and let them know about this so that they can incorporate this into their travel arrangements if they choose.
2) There is a hotel in town within walking distance (literally 5 min) from our venue, which we will be booking hotel blocks at. Last I checked, rooms run about $100/night there. There are also lots of cottages within walking distance that people who are going to stay longer might want to book, and we will be providing that information.
3) I used to work in tourism in this town and will be putting together an info package of things to do/restaurants etc. It's a pretty small town, so it'll be a short list.