Destination Weddings Discussions

Booking the venue for a "Destination Wedding"

Hi - My name is Jen and I am new to TK.  I have read the rules for this board so I hope I am following them with this question.  I got engaged 3 weeks ago and we have decided on a wedding in VA Beach.  We live in Northern VA so it's at least 3.5 hours away (without traffic). We are looking at a date in September 2018.  I have reached out to several venues and they have sent their availability, however, I am really concerned about booking a venue without seeing it first.  I assume this must be the case for many DWs so I was hoping for some advice.  Any recommended questions I should ask, that I may not have already?  Or requests that are "a must" in this situation?  Or even just advice to "get over it, no one likes a control freak" or "don't ever book a venue without seeing it first".  We could make a trip to VA Beach right after Christmas (around 12/26 or so) but I'm afraid that will be too late.  Has anyone else run into this challenge? 
TIA for any thoughts!!!

Re: Booking the venue for a "Destination Wedding"