Chit Chat

Flu shot

The day after a flu shot does anyone else feel like they have been beaten with a baseball bat? I have thought about skipping the shot but I am a high school teacher and exposed to mega amounts of germs.

Re: Flu shot

• debbeau said:
    The day after a flu shot does anyone else feel like they have been beaten with a baseball bat? I have thought about skipping the shot but I am a high school teacher and exposed to mega amounts of germs.
    My arm was heavy and sore for a few days after the shot this year, but that’s it. Which sucks but is way better than the flu, IMO
  • Take a couple of Advil before you go in for the shot, and then keep taking as needed for the next day or so. Some years are better than others. I got mine last week and didn't think it was all that bad. 
  • I'm usually fine after my flu shot. If you feel sick after the flu shot, you were already sick before you got it. 

EVERYONE get a flu shot! It isn't to only to protect you, a healthy adult, it is to prevent you carrying it and spreading it to immunocompressed people: Cancer patients, pregnant ladies, OAPs, Babies etc. 
  • I never have a reaction (I also work at a high school- smart to get it!). Even if you do feel crummy for a few days, it’s better for everyone if those who can vaccinate do.
  • I'm usually fine after my flu shot. If you feel sick after the flu shot, you were already sick before you got it. 

EVERYONE get a flu shot! It isn't to only to protect you, a healthy adult, it is to prevent you carrying it and spreading it to immunocompressed people: Cancer patients, pregnant ladies, OAPs, Babies etc. 
    The flu shot was mandatory at my OBGYN office- do some pregnant women not get the flu shot??
  • eileenrob said:
    I'm usually fine after my flu shot. If you feel sick after the flu shot, you were already sick before you got it. 

The flu shot was mandatory at my OBGYN office- do some pregnant women not get the flu shot??