Wedding Ceremony & Reception Music Discussions

Step-Father Daughter Dance

My parents were divorced when I was 2, and my mother remarried when I was 3.  I didn't really care for my step-dad until I graduated highschool (16 years ago).  Now, my step-dad is all I have left. My dad (great relationship) passed away 10 years ago, and my mom (even closer) 5 years ago.  So, my step-dad is the only parent figure I have left.  I want to do a father/daughter dance with him in honor of my biological parents, but don't know what song to pick. I also worry constantly about my dad's side of the family feeling like that was my "real" dad's job, not my step-dads.  Thoughts?! Songs that would be perfect?

Re: Step-Father Daughter Dance

• My parents were divorced when I was 2, and my mother remarried when I was 3.  I didn't really care for my step-dad until I graduated highschool (16 years ago).  Now, my step-dad is all I have left. My dad (great relationship) passed away 10 years ago, and my mom (even closer) 5 years ago.  So, my step-dad is the only parent figure I have left.  I want to do a father/daughter dance with him in honor of my biological parents, but don't know what song to pick. I also worry constantly about my dad's side of the family feeling like that was my "real" dad's job, not my step-dads.  Thoughts?! Songs that would be perfect?
    Do not do a dance with him "in honor of" your two parents who aren't doing it. (I am very sorry for your losses, by the way.) It just makes him feel like a place filler, which is essentially what you'd be having him do.

If you love your step-dad and want to have a special dance with him, do that, and ignore what nonsense your dad's family might say.

If you don't want to honor him with a dance because you're not that close, just don't have a parent dance.