Students
Options

choosing to get married in grad school or not + covid!

Hi, it's my first time posting here! My fiance and I got engaged last week after 6 years together. We are both 22 and have talked about the wedding and life we want together for several years now. I would appreciate some outside perspectives.

The main issue is we are both about to graduate undergrad. We both want to enter graduate school the next immediate year. However, neither of us want to go if the program will be held online due to covid - we would defer for a year. I feel very stressed and unsure trying to decide when to get married. It's important to me to do within the next few years, but I also don't want to be foolish and put ourselves into debt, or stress ourselves out way too much while in school. However, I am not very excited by the idea of waiting until after we graduate, especially if we defer another year. I am realistically worried about money, as we both have worked and supported ourselves entirely through undergrad and will continue to do so in grad school.

My partner is sort of leaning towards waiting until after we graduate, but I am worried that we'll be just as busy then with doing internships and things like that that we need to do for the careers we want. Almost like 'will there ever be a time when we aren't busy'? I feel like we always will be, so we might as well just plan it..that was the debate before covid. And now, with covid, I don't even want to begin planning because I want to be sure that this is over before setting anything. To be fair, I think after we graduate we would be making more money, so that could be one problem reduced. It feels so hard to talk about a budget when we don't know what job I will be working in grad school (I'm currently in an undergrad-only student position), if we'll even be in school at all next year...there's so much to think about.