Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

a destination wedding with a " wedding party" 2 weeks after in our local town.

Hello everyone I am new to this,  :)

So my fiancé & I are in the beginning stages of planning our wedding. I want a destination wedding , but he would like something also local for family & friends that can not travel .So we have played with the Idea of having a "small" destination wedding with just close friends & family ( we have huge families so trying to keep the invite maximum to 150 people, also knowing a handful will probably decline)

and THEN about 2 weeks AFTER having a " local reception" ( not sure what to call it , is it still considered a reception? or a wedding party?) in our home town. This would probably be around 250 people easy.  

my original plan :
-was to have Save the Dates for the "Local Reception" with an insert of a Save the Date for the destination wedding for those invited. 
- for the invitation to the "local Reception "(some how wording that we will be already married at a small destination ceremony) do the same with an insert, but for those invited to the destination wedding, the option to attend the local reception ( as some are already traveling and may not be able to travel a second time, or do i just invite those members to just one?( this is where its getting confusing )

So I guess my question is 
AM I CRAZY?
IS THIS POSSIBLE?
 or is this a horrible idea  :D

any tips if you've done something similar, or planning to, would be super helpful .

Re: a destination wedding with a " wedding party" 2 weeks after in our local town.

• Options
    It's not crazy.

The correct term for your local party is "celebration." A "reception" follows your actual wedding ceremony. It is mandatory for all attendees of the ceremony.  But the "celebration" can take place at a later time or date and can include other persons.
  • Options