Wedding Woes
Options

Go shopping with your mom?

Dear Prudence,

I have a poor single mom, who loves gift-giving and is terrible at it. Growing up, she would scrimp and save leading up to Christmas to buy gifts I would inevitably hate but pretend to like so as not to hurt her feelings. I have tried to ask her to use her money for necessities or donate to charity, but she insists on buying me gifts. When I got accepted to college, she bought me a $200 poorly-fitting (to the point of being inappropriate) dress, and I cried for hours in my room. Now I’m a grad student in a tiny apartment, and I don’t have space for my necessities, never mind expensive stuff that my mom can’t afford and I don’t want. I know I’m being ungrateful, but I’m sick of feeling so distressed around the holidays. Is there a way to get her to stop without hurting her feelings?

— Guilty Gift-Hater

Re: Go shopping with your mom?

• Options
    Are they things you cannot exchange?  As hard as it is to maybe have a conversation I would guess that mom truly doesn't want her hard scrimped money to be wasted on something ill-fitting like that.  I would also try to gently suggest doing things together instead of gift giving if you think she might be amenable to that.  I personally don't think it's ungrateful to not want ill-fitting clothing or similar gifts.
  • Options
    Some moms mean well and never get it. 

Last year she gave my H a XXL sweater.  My H is an XL at BEST and this XXL made him look like a kid in a Shredded Wheat commercial.  I have numerous items that are too big or not my taste. 

I work on her when I can and have tried to reiterate what is just not my taste.  I think LW can broach the subject before the holidays and also not count on mom for furnishing her wardrobe.  I know I'm not building mine around my mom's choices.
  • Options