Wedding Cakes & Food Forum

Need some advice about Cocktail hour!

Hi everyone. I am getting married in September and I am completely new to event planning. My budget is only $5000 so I’m doing a lot of diy. We are planning to do a taco bar reception, but I’m still trying to decide how we are going to do cocktail hour. Ok to give ya’ll an idea, we are doing our ceremony outside and then the reception indoors…so I’m thinking it’d be best to do our cocktail hour outside. Since we are doing tacos I like the idea of doing chips and maybe have a salsa bar and also offer queso and guacamole, but I need advice on how to set it up. My venue only offers reception tables and chairs which will be inside where the reception is going to be held but I want to offer some seating during my cocktail hour that’ll be outside. Is it a good idea to move some reception tables outside? I was considering renting some pub style tables but I’m expecting 80 or so people which means I’d need a lot of tables which adds up quick. My idea is to serve the tortilla chips in individual baskets and to have all the salsas/dips out on a table with plastic dip bowls that guests can fill themselves. If anyone has done a similar setup I would really appreciate any advice! Also, I was thinking about doing a margarita bar and maybe I can have my bartender already have glasses ready so when my guests transition from the ceremony to cocktail hour they won’t have to wait in line to get their first margarita. 

Re: Need some advice about Cocktail hour!

• My advice:
    -You'll need a chair for every person at both your cocktail hour and rest of reception
    -Have the cocktail hour inside with access to outside if desired.  People don't often stay seated unless limited seating is present and then no one can find a seat.