Students

Help! telling my mom im moving

Hi my name is ali and i am 21 years old. Me and my boy i mean fiance just got engaged! we have been together 3.5 years. I love him so much. I live with my parents currently and he lives with his. We each have a cat. Mine lives at my house and his lives at his house. But they are both ours. We are also adopting a beautiful puppy in two weeks. We love animals and thats a major part of our realtionship. I am a nursing student and i will be graduating in sept. I want sooo bad to move in with him and his parents, we picked his house because my mom does not want another dog or his cat. Plus his parents have the extra room. no i have never been on my own and this would be the first time moving out. So how do i tell my mom im moving out. oh and ps i work at the same place as my mom in differnt departments. shes med billing and im med asst. thanks so much for any advice!!!!

Re: Help! telling my mom im moving

• I...don't mean to be mean or anything, but...you just tell her?  You're 21 years old.  You can do what you want.

P.S.  You would not be moving into his house.  You would moving into his parents' house.  Are they okay with this?  They're the people you need to be worried about.  Are you going to be paying rent?
  • I agree, I would be asking his parents about their thoughts on this.  Are they going to expect you to pay rent?  If so, how much?  What about help out with chores around the house?  Will they allow you and your fiance to share a room or have privacy?  Are you and your fiance going to be able to focus on your studies if you are living together?  Will his parents be ok with you two getting a dog and bringing it to their house (puppies can be very destructive)?  Will the two of you have time to train the puppy with work and school?