Delaware
Options

Intro and Venue Question

Hi girls!  My name is Leslie and I am totally new to these boards and the whole wedding planning process.  I recently got engaged in April (2 days before our 2 year anniversary) when my then BF and I hiked 5 miles out into Shenandoah National Park and found a beautiful waterfall that he had secretly been planning on proposing at for months.  I am a UD grad living in the DC area while my FI, Mike, lives in Delaware, BUT I am planning on moving to the Newark/Bear area there this fall and can not wait to finally not be 2 hours apart from my FI who is truly my best friend and other half.  We are not sure exactly where we will have our wedding and are currently searching for venues for an October 2011 wedding.  (Hopefully we can get 10-1-11 because I just love the math of 10+1=11 for some reason!)  It might be in Maryland or it might be in Delaware so I will probably follow both boards.  I've heard really great things about you ladies from a friend who recently got married and I'm really excited to get to know you all :)

And for my first question which I'm sure you get all the time...can anyone recommend a venue?  We are really hoping for something outside, or at least to hold the ceremony outside and then go inside for the reception.  Right now we plan on 100-150 guests, but will probably end up with closer to 120.  We are more into the park/historic building atmosphere instead of a country club/golf course setting, but are really willing to look at anything.  We are also really open to different areas throughout DE and MD and have looked at 3 already- Swan Harbor Farm in Havre de Grace, MD, Brantwyn Estate and the Carriage House at Rockwood both in Wilmington.  Swan Harbor is currently my first choice, but it is a little pricey so we are trying to keep our options open. Any help would really be appreciated.  Thanks and sorry for the long post!
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Intro and Venue Question

• Options