Pre-wedding Parties

How do I refuse a bridal shower?

Ok, here's the deal.  I am a Paramedic, and therefore work in a predominately male field.  However, I have given three different baby showers to two different co-workers.  One of which said to me shortly after I became engaged, that now it is her turn to give me one.  Of course, I was completely thrilled, right?  Well, at her first shower, I spent a ton of money, and only 3 people came.  At her second one (which was just this past Saturday), only one person came after about 9 had RSVP'd.  We had to beg those people to even RSVP.  I felt really bad for her, which got me thinking, do I really want them to beg people to come to my bridal shower, and then only one person show up?  I would be completely crushed!  So how do I tactfully and tastefully refuse a shower? 

Re: How do I refuse a bridal shower?

• WGachesWGaches member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    So, you only want to refuse it because you're afraid not many people would come? Maybe that isn't what you meant, but it comes across as selfish to me. If you're set on refusing the shower, I would just tell her that you couldn't possible accept it in good conscience since she will be taking care of a new baby, etc.
    *Jeremiah 29:11* SoyFreeBlog
  • duckie1905duckie1905 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment
    edited December 2011
    If your only reason for declining is because you are afraid the shower will be small I think that is a really crappy reason to decline.
  • edited December 2011