Students

Med Students?

Hi, Ladies! I'm fairly new to this and would really like some info on how to plan during 3rd year of med school. yikes! 

Re: Med Students?

• Don't.  With residency interviews coming up in about a year, constant demands in rotations, and trying to maintain sanity, put if off until later.  H is in med school, currently in his 3rd year, and I'm lucky if I get to talk to him on a daily basis (LDR) let alone him having time to plan a wedding.  If you are going to get married this year, find a close friend or family member you trust and that is WILLING to do the majority of wedding planning for you o pay someone to plan it.  And by willing, I mean volunteer themselves and you are appreciative of what they do for you.
    Where there is love, there is life.-Ghandi
  • edited October 2012
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/special-topic-wedding-boards_students_med-students?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Special Topic Wedding BoardsForum:684Discussion:a19b6f7f-d47c-427a-a44a-b37c542dec03Post:8f4eea81-95ad-4028-b304-d9f202ea6ae9">Med Students?</a>:
    [QUOTE]Hi, Ladies! I'm fairly new to this and would really like some info on how to plan during 3rd year of med school. yikes! 
    Posted by drsteph18[/QUOTE]

Fellow med student too :)

Although the previous poster brought up valid concerns for the stress/time demands wedding planning brings on top of medical school.. I wouldn't delay getting married for school. You can't put your life on hold for school, and as bad as rotations seem, you'll likely only be that much busier in residency. So you're going to delay moving forward with your life for 5 or 6 more years? Boo. 

- Pick a smart time in the year where things don't overlap (interviews, heavy rotations, etc), and leave enough time to plan in intervals. 
    - Hopefully your school offers flexibility in time off during MS3/4 where you can take time off leading up to and after the wedding :)