Registry and Gift Forum

Destination Wedding- to register or not to register...

We are having a destination wedding in June and I am having a hard time with the idea of registering for gifts. I just feel like our family and close friends are already spending a good chunk of money to travel with us and I don't want to seem like I am expecting anything. But..... I am constantly being asked where we have registered. I am so torn of what the proper thing to do is and my brides maids are insistent that we have a shower... I am so confused, any in site will be greatly appreciated.

Re: Destination Wedding- to register or not to register...

• If you're being asked then they are wanting gift ideas... I'd create a small registry. You can always add things if needed.
  • Just because people are paying to travel to your wedding doesn't mean that they don't want to buy you a gift. If I were a guest is still want to get you something.

I work in retail and a big saying we have is "don't sell to your own pocketbook."

As for the shower, well that's your choice. If you feel uncomfortable then you don't have to have one. But don't let your friends and family miss out on fun because you feel guilty (because there's nothing to feel guilty about if they genuinely want to do it!). An alternate is to do a bridal tea (something like that that's not a "shower" implies no gifts). I've heard of girls doing it where they request recipes, which sounds awesome!
  • If you are going to have a shower, you MUST register - a shower is specifically for receiving boxed gifts.  If you don't want that, you can instead have a bridal tea or luncheon, which is not a gift-giving occassion.

I just got back from a DW - the bride only registered for enough for her two small showers and then received cards at the wedding.  She didn't expect anything for the same reason you do - she knew how expensive it was for guests simply to attend.