Chit Chat

Eye-rolling baby names

Re: Eye-rolling baby names

• I was told by someone that I work with (I'm a teacher), that before I came to this school they had a Kindergartner come in with the name Le-a.  Everyone pronounced it lee-uh.  The mom came in mad because her name was supposed to be pronounced Lee-dash-uh "The dash don't be silent"  I'm hoping this is just a made up story!!! 

I knew a girl in HS who's name was Xochitl pronounced "Zo-chee"   I can **ALMOST** understand the spelling (from a phonetic standpoint) until you get to the tl at the end!  SMH

I had a Da'Koda once.  His brother was Aweston :-/   I have a DonJaJane (one word) and a Me Chel (must include the space!) in my class now.

My biological mother said she thought about naming me LynnLee (her name and my bio dad's names squished together) if she hadn't have given me up for adoption.
  • I was told by someone that I work with (I'm a teacher), that before I came to this school they had a Kindergartner come in with the name Le-a.  Everyone pronounced it lee-uh.  The mom came in mad because her name was supposed to be pronounced Lee-dash-uh "The dash don't be silent"  I'm hoping this is just a made up story!!! 

I knew a girl in HS who's name was Xochitl pronounced "Zo-chee"   I can **ALMOST** understand the spelling (from a phonetic standpoint) until you get to the tl at the end!  SMH

I had a Da'Koda once.  His brother was Aweston :-/   I have a DonJaJane (one word) and a Me Chel (must include the space!) in my class now.

My biological mother said she thought about naming me LynnLee (her name and my bio dad's names squished together) if she hadn't have given me up for adoption.
    Wow.... the bolded is kind of an ignorant comment.  Xochitl means "blossom" in Nahuatl.  It's pronounced that way because of the language.  It's not weird or made-up.

Aweston is pretty terrible though.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker

"I'm not a rude bitch.  I'm ten rude bitches in a large coat."