Wedding Etiquette Forum

NWR: Signed book instead of a card

2»

Re: NWR: Signed book instead of a card

• AguaEau said:
    I got an invite like that (complete with a horrible cutesy poem) years ago for a cousin's baby shower.  It ticked me off and I found it in incredibly bad taste.

Like people already said, a card and a book are not similarly priced - a book costs a lot more.  Plus, I'm a librarian.  I often give books as presents anyway.  So this request basically takes what I would give as a gift and equates it to a little add-on to the real gift.  "Along with your gift, bring a book!"  "Um, my gift was going to be books."
    This, plus I don't spend money on cards.  I really hate this trend.

• Nymeru said:
    While it is rude to request double-gifting, it is true that a lot of board books run in $2-$4 range, which, really is the cost of most cards.  I wouldn't mind the request because ultimately, it's up to the guests to decide how much they want to bring/spend.

So if they are asking you to bring money for bakery food, are they hosting anything at all?
    I don't buy cards, so unless the book is free this request would cost me additional money.

• Someone please tell me where they find baby books for $2-$4? I threw a shower a couple months ago and mom-to-be requested this (my BFF who is going baby crazy and driving me nuts) and I shot her down. She shrugged it off but I told her people shouldn't feel obligated to buy a book in addition to the standard gift. She got like 8 books anyway.
  • Someone please tell me where they find baby books for $2-$4?

I threw a shower a couple months ago and mom-to-be requested this (my BFF who is going baby crazy and driving me nuts) and I shot her down. She shrugged it off but I told her people shouldn't feel obligated to buy a book in addition to the standard gift. She got like 8 books anyway.

Amazon. I buy nearly everything there.

• MGPMGP member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its Name Dropper