Wedding Party

Long Distance BRIDE and Maids!

Hey everyone!

I hope everyone is having a great day! I've been struggling with an aspect of my wedding party and I thought I'd come here for some help! I've read lots of posts about long distance bridesmaids but the thing is, I am a long distance bride anyway! Most of my bridesmaids live in Ontario, Canada and I am a teacher waaaaaay far up North (other side of the country) and only see them twice a year anyway. I am totally okay with that, as what I want from my maids is love, support, and being at showers and parties etc that will be at home- I don't need assembly teams, etc.

I have one AMAZING friend, however, that I think I have already decided to ask but here is the kicker- we used to work together, but now we don't. We will see each other soon at a conference but after that, i won't see her until the wedding since we now live and work on opposite sides of the country. It's tough because we haven't had to practice being long distance before, know what I mean? I am confident we will remain close but I know it's also wise to really think through these wedding party decisions! It would not bug me at all that she couldnt be at the bachelorette, etc, so thats not an issue for me.

So...what do you think? I love this girl to death, but now we won't even see each other till the wedding, which is Summer 2016. We have a conference coming up in a week where we will be roommmates together, so I know our friendship will be at peak awesomeness. I was planning to ask maids at christmas...but its the only time i am seeing her...so...HELP!

Thanks for reading!

Re: Long Distance BRIDE and Maids!

• I was a LD bride with LD bridesmaids.  I never found it to be a problem.   If you want her ask her.

What differentiates an average host and a great host is anticipating unexpressed needs and wants of their guests.  Just because the want/need is not expressed, doesn't mean it wouldn't be appreciated.