Destination Weddings Discussions

How much should I pay my hair dresser....

Okay!  So I live in Detroit and I have a destination wedding planned in Las Vegas for April of next year.  I want to take my hair dresser out there with me because lets face it, the hair is very important!  So what is fair.  I was thinking if I paid for her flight and her room then that is more than fair as she is getting a free trip out of the deal.  However, I've never done this before, what do you think is fair????  Thanks!!!!

Re: How much should I pay my hair dresser....

• You'd need to pay for her services as well.

Does she frequently travel to work? If you haven't asked, I would just inquire about what she expects if she is traveling to a job. Depending on her schedule and workload she may be "losing" other business/income if she goes out of town so that is something to consider.

I assume she would be going as a vendor, not a guest? Or are you close?
  • I agree with PP, on top of travel costs, you need to pay for her services fee. This was the same with the photographers I contacted when I was looking for a local to come with us (ultimately chose against this). Don't think of it as "a free trip". She had no say in the when, where, or who, so it's not a vacation for her, it's a job that's really far away.

"There is always some madness in love. But there is also always some reason in madness." -Friedrich Nietzsche, "On Reading and Writing"