Not Engaged Yet
Options

Thursday Chat

2»

Re: Thursday Chat

• Options

@AuroraRose41 - I'm an EE. I think I saw that's what you are too? I do long term planning for transmission lines. Hoping to move into substation project management in the next ten years. What do you do?

@LaPeanut1018 - If they really want to protect us, they should just let us all work from home until Ebola is eradicated worldwide!......... But yea. Essentially I'm not even close to scared of Ebola. And now that I have my flu shot, I'm not scared of the flu either!

• Options
    AuroraRose41AuroraRose41 member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its Name Dropper
    edited November 2014
    @AlPacina Yep I'm an EE too. I work on semiconductors for the wireless telecommunications industry, but I did have an internship working on substations, so I am familiar with that side of things too. I'm a product test engineer currently, so I have to test the devices and compare actual yield to SPICE simulations from the designers, and then sign off on whether or not this device can go into a product. I hope to become a patent attorney in the next 5-10 years though. 

I know it seems like a complete 180 for a career change, but it turns out that you have to have an undergraduate degree in a STEM field in order to qualify to sit for the patent bar, which you need to become a patent attorney, and patent attorneys with EE degrees are highly sought after right now. 

ETA: Also, the reason that it is slow at work for me currently is that I have to wait for the devices to be manufactured in the fab before I can test them, and the next lot of devices won't be available to test for another week or two. 

• Options