Wedding Reception Forum

Charity donation in lieu of favors...

Re: Charity donation in lieu of favors...

• I'm just gonna list every charity FI and I have ever been even loosely associated with in our program. And I'm gonna to give an exact number of how much to each charity has been given. So people can properly see how much good work we do.
  • Bragging about your donations is so gross.

It boggles my mind that people seriously think this is ok. 
  • edited June 2015
  • @pinkrevenge not sure if you comment was directed at me. But I am an attorney and literally argue for my profession, but I am trained to do so in a manner that is respectful and still gets my point across. 

I apologize for feeling some compassion for this OP, even though I do disagree with what she was asking to do. 

• HReis13 said:

I agree with everyone that the "in lieu of" is a little self-serving especially since favors aren't required for a reception, but I do feel bad for the OP because reading through these posts it seemed other users are just name-calling and shaming the OP for even having this idea. I must not read these boards often enough, but it seems like it is tip-toeing towards being malicious... especially the person who references another post of the OP in order to shame her more. 

Just seemed like this thread took an ugly turn...

Are you kidding? This place is so mild and lined with eggshells it's mind-boggling. Here you can get a warning if you insult a general presence and someone thinks it applies to them, you don't even have to target someone. You have to be sure you say someone is ACTING in a bad way because saying they are that way will get you banned, and even the "acting" loophole has some severe limits.

Seriously people, do you guys just never ever venture to more open forums?

I'd pay good money to watch the Reddit and 4Chan regs go at some of these posters. . .

Good frigging grief.