Snarky Brides

“We’re still having a wedding though!”

edited April 2015 in Snarky Brides
This is my first time posting on this particular board, but I just saw something that made me gag on Facebook and I just had to share it. Girl gets engaged around Valentines Day, posts multiple times about planning her summer wedding, then changes her relationship status to “married” today and changes her last name. She then posts to *clarify* that they got married a week ago “but don't worry! There will still be a wedding!” ... ... ... What do you mean? You're already married... You had a wedding... A week ago! You are MARRIED!

Rolling my eyes all over the place.

Re: “We’re still having a wedding though!”

• Ugh. So tacky! And "don't worry!"as if everyone is sitting around worrying about the party of the century.

Daisypath Anniversary tickers Daisypath Anniversary tickers

• Well thank god. I'm sure people just devastated when they thought there wouldn't be a wedding! Surely at least a few people needed to be talked off the ledge of buildings. *eye roll*

I'd be tempted to reply with this:

Veronica Mars Over The Moon Face gif

• I'm just really confused about why anyone would think this is totally normal and fine. “We're already married, but we want you to come watch us get married again in August and pretend we're not already married so everyone can see me in a dress and eat cake and give us presents and tell us how great we are.”
  • I have a legit question about this PPD thing.

I totally understand calling it that if you plan and have this wedding months after you are married.

It is my experience with people close to me that have married that if the ceremony is religious, they have to do the "legal" part at the courthouse a few days prior. Is it still then considered a PPD?

I feel like this might be a dumb question but this PPD thing is new to me.

My ceremony is non-religious and will all happen that day, but I'm curious as to how far this goes.