Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Bachelorette party planning drama

Ok so I need to vent!

My bridesmaids want to plan a whole weekend get away for me- which is super thoughtful but it's not what I want. I just wanted a glamour day and evening in Manhattan! Get out nails done, get our hair done get a fun hotel and go out to fun club! They keep saying "that's all you want to do, that's it? Ok if that what you want I guess we'll do it. It is about you, but this is your bachelorette party."

I wanna scream! That's it?! I'm a nurse I live a simple life, i rarely get glammed up, I wear scrubs everyday, my hair is pulled back all the time. I hike on the weekends and take my dog to the park. Very little glamour! To go to NYC (we live about 2 hrs away via train) and do the things I want sounds like a dream bachelorette party to me. But I'm feeling guilty like I'm letting them all down. Ugh any other brides feeling this way?!

Re: Bachelorette party planning drama

• Options
    edited January 2016
    My (now former) SIL was this way.  She has 3 kids, and all she wanted was to get a babysitter, come over to my house and order in Chinese and watch Magic Mike.  Her MOH was like "oh, but we need to do X, Y, Z".  I said, "based on what Jen told me, this is what she wants to do, and this is what we are planning."
  • Options
    Is the weekend getaway they planned also in NYC?
    If what they were planning is pretty much what you want + more, then I think you can tell them you really don't need a whole weekend away but thanks for the great offer.

But if they want a weekend away somewhere elsewhere (maybe somewhere cheaper than NYC) and they didn't plan on nails, hair, etc then you run the risk of giving too much input on a party they are gracious enough to throw for you.