Chit Chat

Learning a foreign language

I would really like to learn how to speak/read/write Spanish better.  I have a fair number of customers in Mexico and want to be able to better communicate with them as they are proficient in my language. 

Has anyone studied a foreign language outside of a school setting?  If so, what do you use and how did you like it?

I've been googling this over the last few days and there are so many options and not very many ways to decide which is better than the others.

Re: Learning a foreign language

• I've been studying Italian for about 4 years. I started out using Rosetta Stone then I found the free website iTalki.com. It is kind of a Facebook for language learners. You can find people there to do language exchanges (they are learning English and you want to learn their language) that you can set up via Skype. The site also has tutors that you can pay (lessons are done on Skype). I found the prices to be very reasonable. I have been working with my tutor for about three years. I also do daily exercises on Duolingo.com which is a lot like Rosetta Stone but there isn't a cost.
  • I'm in the middle of learning Italian and what helped me the most was taking an in person class at my local college. It was excellent for keeping me on track and pronunciation. After that class, I started using a program like Rosetta Stone and it is going okay. I'm back burning it right now but will hopefully get back into it soon. I also think that having a regular outlet for speaking will be helpful.

• When I learned Spanish once and for all (at 26, after Spanish classes K-12 with little more than basic vocabulary) I took classes with Fluent City, which was really helpful.  Nothing compared to forcing DH to speak nothing but Spanish to me though (it's his first language and most of his family members don't speak English, which was why I wanted to learn).  Buena suerte!
  • bleve0821bleve0821 member