Wedding Woes
Options

Controversy Chat

Has anyone seen this story about a teenage girl who didn't wear a bra to school?

As a high school teacher, I have several comments:

1)  Their dress code is super vague and subject to interpretation:
According to the policy, if a student's "personal attire or grooming distracts the attention of other students or teachers from their school work, disrupts educational activities and processes of the school, or is a potential safety hazard, you will be required to make the necessary alterations to such attire or grooming before entering the classroom or you may be assigned to In-School Suspension (ISS)."

So, if a student wears a t-shirt with a Bible verse on it, could an atheist student / teacher claim that it's distracting?  If a female student wears a bra and you can see it through her shirt, is that distracting?  

2)  There is a common "complaint" that a woman's breasts are sexualized.  Duh - they have been for quite some time!  I remember when I worked in the corporate world, one example given of sexual harassment was having a revealing swimsuit calendar in your office area.  So, we as a society admit in this setting that seeing a woman in a bikini can be interpreted / perceived as sexual, but we get upset when a female girl does this?

3)  It's not necessarily about boys (or even lesbian girls)!!  I teach at an all-girls Catholic high school and it's distracting when a student wears a hot pink bra under her white uniform shirt (yes, some of them do that).  Some of them sit VERY relaxed in the classroom in their uniform skirt because they all wear running shorts underneath.  It's distracting to be lecturing and see a high school girl manspreading in class.  

Any other thoughts?

Re: Controversy Chat

• Options

Bolded 3: What's the problem if they have shorts on? And what is the difference if it is a high school girl v. a high school boy manspreading, if they both have shorts on?