Pre-wedding Parties
Options

Trying to include FI's family and friends (kind of long)

Hi ladies, this is my first time posting on this board and I have a couple of questions.  I live in NY with FI and the majority of his family & friends.  My family and friends are in KY, where we are getting married. Because the hosts of my shower and b-party are in KY, that is where the respective parties will be. My first question is, should they still send invites to his family and friends in NY, even though they likely won't be able to fly in for either party? I want them to know they are welcome and very important to me, but I also don't want to look gift-grabby or like I'm asking them to do too much.

My second question is, while I know I can't throw my own party, is there a way to celebrate with FI's family and friends in NY? I would like to have some kind of shower here just so that they feel included, but I cannot and will not ask someone to throw me a shower. I don't care the slightest about getting gifts - I just want these women that are becoming a bigger part of my life to know how much they mean to me, and have them share in the wedding festivities. Is there something I can do to show them this and have them feel included?  I'm concerned that since our wedding is in KY his family and friends will feel kind of left out of things. 

Thoughts?  TIA!
imageWedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Trying to include FI's family and friends (kind of long)

• Options
    edited December 2011
    It's sounds like you have a very good relationship with your FILs. In some families, the grooms close family members feel left out, if they don't receive them. In other families it is regarded as a hint for gifts if you know they won't be able to travel. Your FMIL will be able to advise you on that.