Pre-wedding Parties
Options

Bridal Shower and Second Reception Etiquitee

I am getting married in NJ in March.  I come from a very large family.  Most of my family is in New England.  Nearly all of my cousins are married with young children.  We are trying to keep our numbers down because I am a full time student, so we opted not to invite them to the wedding.  Truthfully, I think that it would be difficult and expensive for them to travel during that time of the year.  We are holding a second reception next summer back in New England.  It will be much more casual than the initial reception, but I want the opportunity to celebrate with my family.

My question is:  Is it okay to invite my cousins to the bridal shower when they will not be invited to the actual wedding, but rather just the second reception? 

Re: Bridal Shower and Second Reception Etiquitee

• Options
    edited December 2011
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/special-topic-wedding-boards_pre-wedding-parties_bridal-shower-second-reception-ettiquite?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Special Topic Wedding BoardsForum:32Discussion:ccddbaf2-7192-4fa8-8a45-5f0f40508996Post:0724fa4d-3703-4347-9037-6388c7cac525">Bridal Shower and Second Reception Etiquitee</a>: