Registry and Gift Forum
Options

XP Bridal Shower

My wedding is May 18, 2013.  So my mom has generously offered to host my bridal shower because my bp can't afford to.  My grandma is in Florida 5 months of the year(dec-apr).  My mom obviously wants to do the shower before she leaves.  She set the date for Sept 23.  FI mom and family will not go because apparently 8ish months before the wedding is too early.  They have been giving me the run around for a while about different reasons why they will not be there.  Finally got the answer.  Apparently they want to throw me a shower closer to the wedding.  I live in MA, closer to the wedding is wintertime with the snow that could happen.  I do not want 2 showers.  I don't want it to look like its a my family thing and then a his family thing.  Plus I hate surprise showers which is what I think his mom wants me to have.  I work in retail, I have to give at least 1 month notice for a time off request.  What would you guys do?
May 2013 FebSiggy... Invite... Different Type of Ribbon/Knot Photobucket Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: XP Bridal Shower

• Options
    I agree with PP.  2 months is standard.  Anything earlier than 4 months feels waaaaaaay early to me.  I'm sorry if your grandma can't be there if it's during the winter months, but it's not likely that everybody will be able to make it no matter what date you pick.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options
    I agree, 8 months is too early. I would side-eye an invite for a shower 8 months out. I get not wanting 2 showes, but if his family wants to throw you one, what is the harm? Have your FI express how you don't want a surprise one. I don't see it as a family sides thing, but as what works for everyone.
    I personally, would try to find a date that works fo everyone.
  • Options