Registry and Gift Forum

Halfway through registering and have a question

Hello all, I am new to the registry and gifts board (been lurking) so I'll introduce myself quickly! My FI and I got engaged last August and are getting married next August 2012. We are inviting 300 people.

We started registering yesterday and have done two of the three stores- Kohl's and Boston Store. We will be going to BBB early next week. We went with lists and ideas of what to register for where- I thought I was prepared- but it's so much more intimidating in-store.

I have found myself to be very conscious of the prices of the items we registered for, and am feeling a bit self-conscious about it- I feel like most of the items are quite expensive. I feel selfish going into and higher than the $60-$70 range.

So my question is- what is the typical/expected price range of registry items and what is generally accepted as the "average" price range? Also, about the registry size- for 300 people being invited, is there a certain number of items that should be on the registries? I have no idea. TIA!!
Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Re: Halfway through registering and have a question

• Don't feel selfish registering for expensive items! You'd be surprised how generous people will be--lots of people will want to buy you something nice, practical, and/or luxurious that you can use forever (a stand mixer, a juicer, china, etc.) Also, you may have a group of friends or a whole family who would love to all chip in and buy your big-ticket items.

I have heard a few different variations of "rules" for registering. Some say register for twice as many guests, so you would want to register for 600 items. Others say you should register for twice as many invitations as you send out. So if you have 300 guests but are sending out 150 invitations, you would want to register for 300 items. This makes more sense to me because most couples buy only one gift from the two of them.