Wedding Customs & Traditions Forum

bridal shower

hello, i am very new to this, so bear with me. My MOH just picked the date of the shower, (which is saturday the 3rd of sept) labor day weekend, I have alot of out of town guests and 3 of my BM's work weekends, she did not check with anyone. I personally do not think a holiday weekend is a good idea, Also the food she is picking out is because there is no work involved, cold cuts, I really want shower food, sloppy joe's, salads, etc. I do not want to seem ungrateful or appear to be a bridezilla, I told her I will help her with whatever she needs and so did the BM's. is it ok to tell he what I would like/think. help me

Re: bridal shower

• She is hosting. Yes, she should have run the date by you. But, you can't tell her to change it. The food or anything else related to planning the shower is not your choice it is hers as she is the host & is paying for it.

Sorry, but you can either smile & say, "thanks" or decline the shower. If you tell her to do if differently, then you are planning your own shower which is rude (and ungrateful) of you.

Planning Bio
    Married 9/15/11

*This is Not Legal Advice*
  • thank you for your input, it is appreciated. even if was not what I wanted to hear, lol
  • I agree she should have run the date by you, but think of it this way- you're getting a free party in your honor.  Show up, smile and be gracious.  In your head you can think of what you'll do different when it's your turn to throw a shower.  ;)  

If any guests or BMs complain, just say I'm sorry but I wasn't involved in the planning. 
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • I agree that she really should have run the date by you.  It doesn't really make sense not to.

But the food, that's a different story.  She's hosting, and she gets to decide what kind of party she'll throw.