Destination Weddings Discussions
Options

Help! Desitination Wedding Advice and Guidance

Hey Everyone! I'm new to the blog and I just need to get some advice and help on a few items. I feel very stressed at this point with my family and parents not wanting to travel, but I feel the desitination wedding would be the best route since money is an issue and I would be paying for all of it.First of all, has anyone heard or used destinationweddings.com to assist with their desitination wedding? I found them on the internet and I liked what it had to offer, but I wasn't sure if it was too good to be true? Any advice?Second, we decided on a June wedding in Mexico and I'm wondering if that is too soon since we need to let our guests know quickly? Thoughts?Third, is it customary to offer to pay some of the costs for my wedding party?Any help would be greatly appreciated it! I'm just feeling a little lost at this point and I've only been engaged less than a month.Thank you :)

Re: Help! Desitination Wedding Advice and Guidance

• Options
    Welcome, and Congrats! :)I have not personally used destinationweddings.com but I know other ladies have.June isn't really too soon at all, it's still over 9 months away, just try to let people know asap by sending out announcements or Save the Dates.It is certainly not customary to cover any costs of the wedding for anyone, other than WR activities. ex: Rehearsal / Welcome dinner (if you do one), the wedding & reception. If you want to contribute financially to your wedding party's travel expenses then that is up to you. Something you may want to think about is making the bridesmaid dresses inexpensive or buying them for your girls, the same goes for groomsmen attire. Again, those are NOT customary, just things you can do if you want to.Where in Mexico are you thinking? There are a few Mexico brides on here. I'm getting married in Cancun :)
  • Options