July 2012 Weddings
Options

Torn...

Okay here's the situation. I don't know whether I invite these people are not.

As some of you know I'm a home care nurse, so I go from house to house visiting patients everyday Monday-Friday.  I've built relationships with my patients, some more so than others, 1 in particular I could almost call my family, we even exchange gifts at Christmas (they spoil me like crazy)  and when they go on vacation every year they usually bring something back for me (which is incredibly thoughtful).

This family in particular I see because I help take care of their son who has Cerebral Palsy. They are the first patients I see every weekday morning and I'll see them 3 times a week around dinner hour.
I'm not inviting any of my co-workers to the wedding, or any of my patients, however I'm torn about this 1 particular family.
We (myself and the boys parents) discuss hot topics, the wedding (they are always asking how the planning if going) and local events, I guess you could say we've become friends.

So.. I don't know whether to invite them. I know there's no way any of my other patients would know I invited these people, since none of my patients know of any other patients I see for confidentiality reasons, but I'm worried that one way or another my office would find out. How? I have no idea but with my luck they could and doing things outside of my job with patients or their families is against employment "rules".

I feel like if I didn't invite these people they would be deeply hurt and thats the last thing I want to do.
I'm Torn. Help!
. Anniversary aandt image

Re: Torn...

• Options
    Well if you talk to them on a personal level can you say I would really love to invite you to our wedding but I can get into big trouble if work finds out so can you please promise me you will not say anything because I can lose my job.