January 2012 Weddings

not sure right now...

that I still want to even be a teacher. I think I need to get another job for a year that I hate, so that the teaching passion returns to me. Right now my heart just can't justify looking for a job when I am completely unmotivated to teach, but no one else agrees with me. What do you ladies and Mark think?

Re: not sure right now...

• This is completely understandable and something I went through as well. It took me almost 2 years after I graduated to get my first teaching job. Granted I did move to Florida for almost 2 years and had several interviews, but nothing ever came of it. When I moved back to PA I got the first teaching job I interviewed for. Initially I was excited, but ended up having to deal with a lot of personal issues (mainly depression) which took my passion away. That combined with the philosophy of the school made me want to leave. Now I'm back in Florida for 2 years and it is almost 5 years after I graduated college. I worked in retail for over a year as an Assistant Manager. Finally five years AFTER graduating I am ready to teach and take on all the responsibility of being a teacher.

Give yourself a break and take a job somewhere else for a while. That may be just what you need to restore you passion in teaching. I know I needed a break. I hope this helps!
    Daisypath Anniversary tickers BabyFetus Ticker BabyName Ticker
  • It sounds like your are a little burnt out.  Thats pretty normal for everyone to go through at some point in time.  What I like about education is that it is applical anywhere.  You could do day cares, schools, summer camps, nannying, people with disabililites, ect.  If you want to stay in your field but not teach, those would be some good suggestions.

Otherwise, if you feel that you need to take a break, you have to do what is best for you.What kind of job would you want to do for 1 year?