Catholic Weddings

2 questions....NFP and priest "gratuity"

Ok I have 2 questions. 
1.  My archdiocese is not offering any NFP classes; I've searched through some websites and found some resources, but do y'all recommend any particular literature regarding the practice of NFP.  We already decided we want to use NFP but need to know how  to actually do it.  Any good internet classes or texts? 
2.  The priest from our parish is not marrying us in our church but in another one and so the fee for that church does not include any compensation for our priest.  What would be a good offering to him for his services?  A gift, money, how much?  Thanks for the guidance. 

Re: 2 questions....NFP and priest "gratuity"

• 1. Lots of people have self-taught successfully using Taking Charge of Your Fertility. I, however, always recommend that people take a class. Northwest Family Services offeres an online sympto-thermal class (it is approved by my diocese), and I believe Billings has online classes as well -- hopefully, TeaforMe will pop in to answer more definitively. I think some Creighton instructors can arrange things long-distance as well, but I'm not positive about that.

2. I'd say money: $100-200. Some people prefer including a gift card to a favorite restaurant or a bottle of wine or the like or a mixture of the above.

Welcome, good luck, and stick around!
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • ditto biblio on all points, except id give a higher fee if there is significant travel and/or hotel involved for the priest.
  • I think lots of NFP classes are not necessarily "offered" by the diocese, but are more indepenedant.
    Try www.omsoul.com to find a teacher
  • You can also use www.boma-usa.org to find a Billings instructor.

I agree on the priest payment.  We paid our priest $150 and got him a $50 giftcard to his favorite restaurant.
    Anniversary

• Ditto everyone else, and good luck OP!